Day 88 – Bridge of Orchy to Kinlochleven

Sometimes there are days which make you realise why long-distance walking is worth it. This was definitely one of them. Bright sunshine, a refreshing breeze, stunning scenery, a firm path underfoot, an energetic but not exhausting route, wild moorland, huge mountains – it was a pretty much perfect day.
It’s a long way from Bridge of Orchy to Kinlochleven and usually I would not have attempted it in one go, but it’s a great walk when you do it all at once – the prettiness of Inveroran giving way to the wild isolation of the moor, then the beautiful views from the Devil’s Staircase and a long steep descent into Kinlochleven. I would highly recommend it!
I have walked the section across Rannoch Moor several times before, but I don’t think I have ever walked it before in the sunshine – what a revelation! I could see for miles, and the distant peaks of Glen Etive and further north were all sharp and clear, making for some genuinely awe-inspiring scenery.
I could also feel how much fitter I have become – for once, going uphill (even the dreaded Devil’s Staircase) felt like a pleasure rather than an endurance test. For most of the day, there was no sound apart from my breathing, my feet and the wind, and I stopped worrying about the route, work, family and my feet and just simply relaxed happily into the walk. It was truly a joy to be alive.

Highlights: One of the best days walking I’ve ever had. I can’t attach all the pictures I took (and they don’t do it justice in any case!) but here’s a selection.

Leave a Reply

